Qantas Airlines

    Qantas is among the oldest airlines in the world having started in the year 1920. Qantas is an acronym for Queensland and Northern Territory Aerial Services Limited. The airline is the largest in the Australian region. The airline operates international, regional and domestic flights to 21 international destinations and 20 domestic destinations in 14 countries across all the six continents barring Antarctica on its own steam. In conjunction with its subsidiaries the airline touches 31 international cities and 65 cities within Australia.

    The IATA code for Qantas is QF

    The ICAO code for Qantas is QFA. The Callsign for Qantas is QANTAS.

    Hubs and Focus Cities

    Qantas operates from three hubs located in Brisbane Airport, Melbourne Airport and Sydney Airport. The airline operates secondary hubs from Adelaide Airport, Dubai International Airport and Perth Airport. Qantas focus cities are Cairns International Airport, Darwin International Airport and Los Angeles International Airport.

    Qantas Fleet

    Qantas operates with a fleet strength of 123 planes comprising 83 Boeing aircraft and 40 Airbus aircraft.

    A unique feature of Qantas planes is the way some of the planes are painted. They are painted with some special art work created by individual artists that sets the planes apart from other planes at an airport. The planes are also named in a unique way by recognizing variously Australian birds, stars, Greek gods, Australian cities and Australian aviation pioneers.

    Qantas Travel Classes

    Qantas operates four classes of travel. The First Class offers a unique seat configuration which apart from converting to a flat bed can also be rotated from front facing during takeoff to side facing for sleeping and dining. The Business Class on international routes offers flatbeds. The Premium Economy Class is offered as a service a notch below that of Business Class as opposed to a notch above Economy Class.

    Qantas In-flight Entertainment

    Qantas provides state-of-the-art in-flight entertainment systems under “On:Q” brand which offers an audio video on demand service using the Panasonic Avionics System. The service also offers exclusive footage from National Geographic Channel, Foxtel and HBO.

    Qantas Frequent Flyer Program

    Qantas runs the Qantas Frequent Flyer program through which flyers earn Qantas Points. They also earn points for booking a hotel or hiring a car through Qantas. Points can be redeemed for various services and products including food, wine, hotels and products from select stores. Flyers can move from entry level Bronze status to Silver, Gold, Platinum and the highest Platinum One status.

    Codeshare and Oneworld Alliance

    Qantas is a founder member of the Oneworld Alliance partnership. Qantas also has codeshare agreements with 26 other airlines throughout the world that include American Airlines, British Airways, Emirates and Japan Airlines.

    Qantas Baggage Policy

    Checked baggage allowance is provided on the basis of the status of the passenger in Qantas Frequent Flyer program and the destination. The standard allowance for checked baggage is 66 pounds with a size restriction of 62 inches total of length + width + height. This allowance is higher for higher class of travel. Carry-on baggage is also dependent upon the class of travel. In general carry-on baggage is limited to a maximum weight of 15 pounds and size of 45 inches. An additional non-rigid garment bag is also allowed subject to a size of 73 inches.

    Book your Austrian Airlines flight